Guns & Roses: Appetite for Destruction

Four words: Welcome to the Jungle! These four but meaningful words started with my flirtation and eventually my addiction and love for Rock Music. For some people it may sound a lot like noise or mindless aggression, but for me it was an expression. Listening to Rock music strips me of my inhibitions, I am in control, I feel powerful, I feel like cursing, I feel like I could go insane and I don’t give a fuck what everyone else is thinking about.

Guns & Roses: Appetite for Destruction

Appetite for Destruction is the debut studio album by American hard rock band Guns N’ Roses. Released in 1987 (see 1987 in music), it was well-received by critics and topped the American Billboard 200 chart. As of September 2008, the album has been certified 18x platinum (1.8x diamond) by the RIAA, accumulating worldwide sales in excess of 38 million as of June 2010. The album is the best-selling debut album of all-time worldwide, beating Boston‘s debut album Boston, which has gone 17x platinum.

In 2006, the album was placed No. 2 on Guitar World magazine’s list of the 100 Greatest Guitar Albums of All Time.

Origins:

Axl Rose stated in 1988 that many of the songs featured on the album had been written while the band had been performing on the Los Angeles club circuit, and a number of songs that would be featured on later Guns N’ Roses albums were considered for Appetite for Destruction, such as “Back Off Bitch“, “You Could Be Mine“, “November Rain” and “Don’t Cry“. It is said that the reason for not putting “November Rain” was because they had already agreed to put “Sweet Child ‘O Mine” and that they already had a ballad on the album

While the songwriting credits are credited to all five band members, many of the songs began as solo tracks that individual band members wrote separate from the band, only to be completed later. These songs include “It’s So Easy” (McKagan) and “Think About You” (Stradlin). “Rocket Queen” was an unfinished Slash/Adler song that was written from their earlier band Road Crew, whereas “Anything Goes“, written by Hollywood Rose and included in their compilation album The Roots of Guns N’ Roses, was later re-written for Appetite.

Other songs on the album reflect the band’s reaction to the debauchery of the L.A. rock and roll underground, such as “Welcome to the Jungle” the lyrics of which Rose wrote after he encountered a man on the sidewalks of New York City shortly after arriving there from Indiana. Lyrics to some of the songs focus on the band members’ younger years, like “Out ta Get Me”, which focuses on lead singer Axl Rose‘s constant trouble with the law as a youth in Indiana. The band also based song lyrics on their assorted female companions, reflected in the songs “Sweet Child o’ Mine“, “Think About You“, “My Michelle“, “You’re Crazy”, and “Rocket Queen“.

I was at school, as usual acting like a geek hanging out at the Music Room. I was reliving my High School days, about being the President of the San Beda High School Glee Club and how we used to perform in front of screaming girls at St. Scholastica’s School in Pampanga.*sigh* Those were indeed fond memories, I remember the student body used to form a human barricade where we could get through to our dressing room. Anyway, this was just a typical lunch break. Two of my new classmates decided to “hang” along with me… (both of them were now Lawyers), they were surprised that I had easy access to music room, but I was even more surprised to find out that they actually played musical instruments. Jake, who is now a partner of a political law firm plays great piano, he played for us the theme song of the TV show “Goin’ Bananas”. While Rain who is now a fiscal in Metro Manila (I’am not at liberty to divulge my friend’s information and credentials sorry :-)), took up “classical guitar” lessons at U.S.T. Both of these guys started jamming and the first beat they played… 🙂

just kidding… of course Sweet Child of Mine. 🙂

Soon, we would acquire the services of one of the nicest and most kindest persons you would ever come across… The after image’s drummer Mr. Rogie Callejo. 🙂 Our school band would rock the entire CAS Department as it taught the school how to rock and how to have a great time without getting high. Their first major performance was at our school’s freshman initiation. One scene where in the middle of two songs Jake & our Bassists had to change guitars, there was no pause Rogie kept going at it with an all too familiar chant heard at every NCAA game… the Indian yell. “Ohhh whoo whoo Ohh, wala ba kayong masabi bedista?!?” Just as the last chant of the yell was sang they all came together in another big song. It was the most fun I had in my scholastic life, more fun than that time in St. Scho. Pampanga… but that was different story.

I wasn’t the Bassist, I wasn’t the vocalist, heck I wasn’t even the one holding up the symbals. I was just a regular guy, aww heck I was more than just a regular guy… I was a fan. I used to pride myself singing just about any song my musical director would give me, but after listening to GNR, after listening to all that angst all that passion, I will forever be a devotee…

Track Listing: All songs credited to Guns N’ Roses; “It’s So Easy” co-credited to West Arkeen and “Anything Goes” co-credited to Chris Weber. Actual writers and composers listed.

No. Title Lyrics Music Length
1. Welcome to the Jungle Axl Rose Slash 4:34
2. It’s So Easy Duff McKagan, West Arkeen McKagan, Arkeen 3:23
3. Nightrain Rose Izzy Stradlin, Slash 4:29
4. “Out ta Get Me” Rose Stradlin, Slash 4:24
5. Mr. Brownstone Stradlin Stradlin, Slash 3:49
6. Paradise City Rose, Slash Rose, Stradlin, McKagan, Slash 6:46
7. My Michelle Rose Rose, Stradlin 3:40
8. Think About You Stradlin Stradlin 3:52
9. Sweet Child o’ Mine Rose Stradlin, Slash, McKagan 5:55
10. “You’re Crazy” Rose Stradlin, Slash 3:17
11. “Anything Goes” Rose, Stradlin Stradlin, Rose, Chris Weber 3:26
12. Rocket Queen Rose Slash, McKagan 6:13

source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appetite_for_Destruction

Leave a Reply

