Pizza is my Savior

Time line LAST NIGHT: It’s already 8:20 pm, I just got off my bike after sweating it out for two whole hours… who am I kidding! I was on for only 30 minutes.  It was almost three weeks ago when I vowed to lose this weight I gained over the past year (thank you Yellow Cab and Shakey’s).

HISTORY OF PIZZA:

The innovation that gave us the flat bread we call pizza was the use of tomato as a topping. For some time after the tomato was brought to Europe from the Americas in the 16th century, it was believed by many Europeans to be poisonous (as are some other fruits of the nightshade family). However, by the late 18th century it was common for the poor of the area around Naples to add tomato to their yeast-based flat bread, and so the pizza was born.

These flatbreads, like pizza, are from the Mediterranean area and other examples of flat breads that survive to this day from the ancient Mediterranean world are focaccia (which may date back as far as the Ancient Etruscans), coca (which has sweet and savory varieties) from Catalonia, Valencia and the Balearic Islands, the Greek Pita or Pide in Turkish or Piadina in the Romagna part of Emilia-Romagan in Italy.

Similar flat breads in other parts of the world include the Indian Paratha, the South Asian Naan, the Sardinian Carasau, Spianata, Guttiau, Pistoccu, the Alsatian Flammkuchen and Finnish Rieska.

My so-called savior

Time line SIX MONTHS AGO: My wife and I went on a food binge to get over some personal issues. Pizza was our savior! It was Pizza for a week!!! We tried almost every Pizza on the Menu (Basic Cheese, Supreme, Super Supreme, All Meat, All Vegetables, All Carbs, All Cholesterol…) and I must admit… It felt gooood!!!

You open the box and you begin to whiff the aroma of the freshly cut tomatoes. (actually it’s the pizza sauce I know I’m exaggerating… so shut up! :-)) Your imagination takes over as you take the first slice and you look at how that mozzarella clings on to the rest of its brothers, as if it were fighting for dear life, saying “I can’t be eaten!!! It’s so unfair!!! Why do I have to be the Big Slice!!! I have Issues!!!”. Then you sink your teeth into all that goo and crispy veggies… you taste the meat, cheese, garlic and fresh onions. You sit back, relax and think to yourself… “it’s the closest thing I can get to heaventake me now!!!

mouth watering

Pizza was my savior it offers you comfort, it offers you a reason for everything. You can eat it and hate it at the same time. In your tounge it gives you comfort it’s your best friend while in your belly it’s a… virus saying “I’m gonna magnify your saddle bags, I’m gonna make you look like the nutty professor”.

Pizza was my movie companion, my easy way out, my solution to hunger, my metaphorical Plato. (Plato always listened to what other people are saying before giving his rebuttal).

Pizza was a true friend, it was just a phone call away. He wasn’t a snob, he was always courteous, he always asks what you want and what you need. He was structured he provides order (no pun intended) to all that chaos. He was quick to reply, he always says: “I’ll be over there in 30 to 45 mins…” (hang in there buddy help is on the waaaaay!!!) he never disappoints (well they occasionally forget to add extra cheese and they sometimes don’t include the hot sauce…), and he was never, never pretentious he always cared, anxious to know if you’re OK and hopes to hear from you again.

Just a point of clarity: Pizza is not all that bad for you… Like most things of this world when you covet something, when you over do it (in this case eat too much of it) that’s the only time it becomes bad. C’mon people! Pizza for a week?!?

Time line TODAY:  After the six month honeymoon stage you’re sitting in your room… writing on your blog. Blocking your mind about thinking of weighing yourself. All the while knowing that you’ve already gained 40 lbs in just a month! All that “heaven” paid off in a couple of minutes of guilty pleasure. I know I sound bitter after letting myself go… Now I have to endure the ridicule of other people saying how fat I’ve become, the usual quotes: “Ang taba mo na!” and the sarcastic “Uy pumapayat ka ha!” is now part of my every-week life.

Life has taught me a lot of lessons one of them is “sacrifice to achieve your desired goal”. In a sense this is just a “cool-off stage (ewww!)” I will have that occasional binge, I will still pick up the phone to catch up on my dear friend. But not today, not this week, maybe not even this month. But hopefully, surely, definitely I will  catch up with my dear dough. I’am after all and forever will be a PIZZA LOVER 🙂

Leave a Reply

